More shiny things…

Since I’ve been amassing quite a collection of silver platters/plates/bowls, I’ve been looking for ways to display them. I’ve seen quite a few wall displays on Pinterest, like these…

From Dishfuntionaldesigns.blogspot.com

From House185

From dishfunchionaldesigns.blogspot.com

and I’ve been contemplating something similar for my house. Keeping that in mind, don’t judge me when I tell you that the other day, I went to Faith Farm and found this plate/bowl made by Reed and Barrow. I liked the look of it, and for $3, I decided it wouldn’t kill me to add it to the pile.

Pretty tarnished…

I took this picture after I already started to wipe the Weinman’s silver cream on it, which is what the white cream is on the left side. A few minutes later, I was buffing it dry. Ahhh… all shiny and new again!

I do so love shiny things!!

I had also picked up this little bowl for $2 – but didn’t take a before picture, as usual. I get so excited to start a project that I forget that little step. But, imagine that it was just as tarnished as the first one.

Chippendale – Holiday

After all the different methods of removing tarnish, I find that I really do love Weinman’s silver cream. It doesn’t stink, it works fast, and the little jar lasts forever.

Weiman’s Silver Cream – fabulous!

 

Is there a product that you just love, that works better than anything else that you have tried? I mean for anything, not just polishing silver. Tell me about it, so I can try it too. I find that I always get the best feedback from “real” people who have tried products, rather than relying on what the makers of the product say to sell it to you.

Thanks for stopping by!

Eliesa

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Alison
    May 09, 2012 @ 10:52:18

    Love your latest finds!! You have such a great eye for this stuff. 🙂

    Reply

  2. ScottieV
    May 12, 2012 @ 22:11:52

    Seriously? Chalk paint. Covers usually in one coat, no priming or sanding for adhesion, looks super cool, can be used indoors or outdoors, and if you don’t ilk fit after you seal it, paint over it with no trouble. L.O.V.E. it!

    Reply

  3. ScottieV
    May 12, 2012 @ 22:12:30

    Oy! if you don’t like it after you seal it…. (sorry)

    Reply

Please leave a comment - they make me feel warm and fuzzy

