My latest thrift store treasures

I’ve been running around lately looking for fabric for the chairs I am re-covering, and checking little thrift stores and consignment shops for the chairs that I am hopelessly in love with. I’m sure you’ve seen these before – and all over blogland – but I desperately want them.

From Decorpad.com

I haven’t had much luck at all finding them – except for one little shop that had a set of six for $2400! I knew they were expensive, but that’s way more than I want to spend. It made me sad to leave that store without them. I mean, I was seriously thinking about selling a kidney or something to get them, but I wanted to stay happily married and if I spent that much money on chairs, my husband would not be thrilled, no matter how cute they were!

Across the street from that little shop, there is another shop that had chairs kind of like the ones I want. Like, these…

Too small for a dining room.

Loved this one, but it was WAY expensive too!

cute, but not dining room material either.

I can’t seem to stop thinking about finding them. I check Craigslist in our area a dozen times a day, scour eBay for ones that are reasonable, and drool over Kristy’s set that she recently bought for $300 – including a table! ARGH!!! So, if anyone sees a set for sale, let me know ASAP! Thanks 🙂

Anyway… on to what I have found – and purchased!

Yesterday, I found this blue plate. I love blue – it’s my favorite color – so I figured I would find a place for it. Best of all, it was $1.50!

I love the way the light shines through it and makes the table glow.

Then I found this little guy at a new “thrift” shop.

Looks like a peacock to me, but it doesn’t have spots on the tail.

I won’t be going back to that store because they price their stuff all kinds of crazy. Something that is tagged from the store it was originally sold at for $10, will be marked at $9.99 – and they don’t budge on their pricing! But I liked this little guy, whom I call Fred, so I bought him. Not loving the gold, may have to change that soon.

A few weeks ago, at a garage sale, I found this.

Juice-O-Mat – $2

I was so excited because I had seen one on Pinterest and thought to myself that it would be great to find one for our house, but I never see them when I’m out. And then, like two days later, there it was, and for only $2! Not bad when you consider that one exactly like this one is currently up for sale on eBay for $24, and that one is beat-up pretty badly. Since I found it, we’ve had fresh squeezed OJ and tangerine juice, which is actually sweeter than OJ. And the lemonade that I make is delicious in a way that the powder stuff can’t touch! Love it.

I also picked up this little conversation starter at my favorite place, Faith Farm. Loved the price –  only $10!

Globe Bar – from 1974

It’s a little beat up – the paper is coming off the globe part and the arm.

The inside of the globe looks like this.

Inside top of the Globe

Isn’t it fabulous? My grandmother Lois, had one and I loved it because it was so classy looking, and I could picture the old-fashioned kind of dinner parties held around it, everyone with a drink in their hands, men in suits in a circle on one side of the room, ladies on the other – everyone dressed up and looking perfect. Ahhh… there goes my imagination again, sorry. I wonder if I could fix it somehow without ruining the charm of it?

What have you found lately that makes you smile?

Thanks for stopping by.

Eliesa

Linking up here… http://southernhospitalityblog.com/thrifty-treasures-mothers-day-edition-5-13/

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristy Swain
    Apr 19, 2012 @ 16:26:48

    Thanks for the mention! I have those chairs sitting in the formal dining, where they will go instead of the breakfast room, waiting for a custom table to be made. So, it’s odd right now with just the chairs. Haven’t painted them yet, but hope to decide on a color soon and give it a shot. If it doesn’t go well, I’ll just have them sand blasted and painted professionally since they are aluminum. Hope you find some! You did find some other cool things for sure! You’ll love my post that goes up tomorrow – it’s fun finds from Austin’s Antique Mall. It’s a hot spot for affordable gems.

    Reply

    • A Pinterest Addict
      Apr 19, 2012 @ 16:30:40

      You have the best luck, and taste! Seriously envious, but super excited for you that you found your set. I would love it if we had a cool antique mall close by. Unfortunately, “antique” around here equals “expensive”.

      Reply

  2. Sam Stoic
    May 09, 2012 @ 11:12:21

    Hi Eliesa,
    I’m pretty sure “Fred” is a male pheasant. Thanks for all the wonderful posts, they make me smile.

    Reply

  3. Ginny
    May 09, 2012 @ 17:29:20

    Fred actually looks more like a phoenix than pheasant to me! He’s pretty either way!

    Reply

Please leave a comment - they make me feel warm and fuzzy

