18th Birthday

My daughter turned 18 the other day. To be honest, the idea of her being an “adult” both terrifies and excites me. I can’t get over that my baby is old enough to vote, buy lottery tickets and make her own decisions, etc. I see her making plans for someday moving out, and it brings me to tears. I know it’s such an exciting time in her life and I’m happy to see what a fabulous person has grown into, and I know she will do great things, but she is still my “baby” and always will be. I guess the best way to sum it up is that it’s bittersweet. Hold on… I need to get a tissue  😦

Well, anyway, let’s get on with how this relates to Pinterest. I love Pinterest for so many reasons, and one big one lately is that my daughter is on it too. I love all the funny stuff she pins, and more importantly, she has a board for “products she loves”. This board has made my life much easier when it comes to buying presents for her. Because for all her amazing qualities, she is kind of a pain in the tush to buy gifts for. So to help with gift selection, besides the obligatory gifts of clothes and Barnes and Nobles gift cards, I just perused her board for a few ideas…

Drinklip
Super Hero Socks
Whatever Clock

Without Pinterest, how would I have ever known that my 18 year old wanted super hero socks? When she opened those presents, she was delighted. The real kind of delighted, not the “gee, thanks, I always wanted a poster of a kitten in a flower pot” kind of pretend delight. It was fabulous!

To celebrate her birthday, we had a small family party on Sunday. Of course, I used Pinterest to find new recipes and ideas to make it special. Since she likes penguins, especially fat ones, I thought these would be an adorable addition to the table.

Holy crud, aren’t they the cutest?!  Oh, by the way, before I post our version I should point out that about three hours before the party, we lost power due to a brush fire on the next street. We had no power until about a half hour after people started showing up. And when we lose power, we lose water too because we have a well, not city/county water. Ugh – so no showers, or cleaning up! So, in the middle of that mess, I forgot to take “good pictures” of my creations, sorry! Heck, if my little sister hadn’t asked me if I took pics of everything, I wouldn’t have even had this one to share. Crud!

As my daughter also has a thing for dinosaurs, especially stegosauruses, I also made an attempt to make this dinosaur cake.

What I was trying to create…

Unfortunately, the pin I had re-pinned so long ago, wasn’t linked back to it’s original poster, so I couldn’t find out how to make the cake. I figured it couldn’t be that hard, so I tried to figure out how to do it on my own. Mind you, I have no cake decorating background or skills… I must warn you that you should not be drinking anything when you take a look at the next picture, as you make spit it out when you burst into laughter. Don’t say I didn’t warn you!

Just remember that I made this little guy in the dark. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.
Oh, but he was delicious!

Have you finished snickering and shaking your head in disbelief that I was brave enough to share that lovely creature?? 🙂

Moving on… We also made this lemonade.

From What’s Cookin’ Chicago

Oh my, it was amazing! I didn’t get a picture of our version, as it went way too fast. I’ve already picked up a bunch of lemons and limes to make more, it was that delicious.

We made these…

Rainbow fruit skewers

And I had every intention of making this, but without a working oven I couldn’t, so guess what I will be making tonight for dinner?

Baked Taco Ring

And I have made this Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake recipe twice this week, once for her actual birthday, and once for the party, and there wasn’t one piece left when we were done. A-MAZ-ING!!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake

I wish I had more pictures of how our versions of these pins turned out, but I was just focused on making the best of the no-electricity situation as I could and taking pictures didn’t even register as a priority. Next time, I promise to take pics first.

As I’ve said before, I love Pinterest. It’s definitely made our get togethers a little more “special” and a lot more personalized. Can’t wait for this weekend – it’s Easter at my sister’s house, and I know just the pins to try out!

Hope you have a great day – thanks for stopping by!

Eliesa

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. creatively{delicious}
    Apr 03, 2012 @ 12:35:27

    This is an AWESOME post! I love seeing so many things on Pinterest that actually were bought or done 😉 My 4 year old immediately guessed that it was a dinosaur cake, so we think you did an excellent job on it! Thank you so much for sharing your experience, and how you handled it without electricity is commendable 😉

    Have a delicious day –
    The Dunnings 😉

    Reply

    • A Pinterest Addict
      Apr 03, 2012 @ 12:41:02

      Thank you! Please tell your 4 year old that it means the world to me that you guys liked it 🙂 When I showed my husband, he promptly announced that it was a dinosaur taking a siesta! LOL! It was yummy, and my daughter loved it, so it’s all good, right?!

      Reply

  2. Brandy
    Apr 04, 2012 @ 20:54:22

    The cake made me cry from all the LOLZ! Cute

    Reply

    • A Pinterest Addict
      Apr 04, 2012 @ 22:35:35

      It is pretty bad, huh? I just found another pin that explained that there is a ball-shaped cake pan that would have been very helpful in this case. Next time, it will be fabulous!

      Reply

      • Brandy
        Apr 04, 2012 @ 22:52:22

        No, not bad, It was cute! I make ugly cakes, sure they taste great, but they are ugly! I dont think I have the guts to make a dino cake!

Please leave a comment - they make me feel warm and fuzzy

