Finally Finished!

A few months ago, I started a upholstery class on Tuesday nights. We each had to bring our own “project” piece with us to class every week. Do you  remember when my chair looked like this?

Yeah, it wasn't pretty

And now, it’s finally finished. Yay!! I have been doing a happy dance every time I see it sitting in the bedroom!

Unfortunately, the paint job didn’t hold up as well as I would have liked through 8 weeks of going back and forth to class, but it makes it look a little distressed and adds some character, so I’m not going to touch it up. For now.

Although I am glad this chair is done, I was sad to see the class end. My friend from high school took the class with me, so it was great to actually get to see her every week (she lives about 40 minutes away), so I’m bummed to miss out on catching up with her. Not to mention that she completely rocked that class! She finished not one, not two, but THREE projects in the time we took the class.

The next session of classes starts next month, so I’ll be signing up again. I figure with all the chairs I have to finish, it’s a great investment of time and money to learn as much as I can about it.

I wish I had the forethought to take before and after pictures of everyone’s projects to share here – some of the transformations were quite amazing. There were all kinds of projects – from footstools to boat chairs to benches and everything in between. And I wish I had paid more attention to what everyone else had going on. It would have been great to see how to do all the different techniques – welting, double welting, tack strips, piecing together fabric, etc. But I was so determined to get my chair finished, I hardly took any time to check out what everyone else was doing. And I hated feeling all nosey and stalker-ish, standing over their shoulders, watching them work…

Last year, I attempted my first chair makeover…

My first attempt at re-upholstery from last year.

Now that I know what I did wrong on the first one, I want to go back and re-do it again to match the new one better. If you could see this one in person, you’d laugh at my lame attempt at a cushion cover (I just made a pillowcase cover for it), and I literally just sewed a piece of fabric around the old double welting that was on the original chair and glued it on. Oh, and forget trying to re-tuft it. Heck, I didn’t even fill in the holes before I stapled on the new fabric. Yeah, not stellar stuff, but at the time, I was crazy proud of it! I guess I still am. I did it way back before I knew about all the amazing blogs with step-by-step instructions on how to re-upholster a chair.

Anyway, I’m going back to pulling the fabric off my orange couch now that I’ve had my tetanus shot updated. Hopefully, I’ll be able to keep the puncture wounds to a minimum 😛

Thanks for stopping by!

Eliesa

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tracy
    Mar 16, 2012 @ 09:04:39

    Awesome job Eliesa! The chair looks great, and your first chair does too (well at least if not perfect in person, it really photographed well!!) Can’t wait to see your next project 🙂

    Reply

  2. ileana
    Mar 16, 2012 @ 11:46:24

    The chair looks fabulous! Upholstery is much harder than you would think, so you should be very proud of yourself.

    Reply

  3. CherylK
    Mar 16, 2012 @ 14:03:48

    That chair looks terrific! Good for you. As for the paint job, you could lightly sand it where it would naturally show some wear (on the arms, maybe) with some very fine sand paper (and then coat it with a sealer) to make it even more shabby chic.

    I like the little pillow you have in the second photo…very pretty pattern.

    Reply

  4. Lindsey@BetterAfter
    Mar 16, 2012 @ 17:37:54

    Looks fantastic! I would love to try an upholstery class too! If only I could find one around here …

    Reply

  5. mairzeebp
    Mar 17, 2012 @ 17:33:55

    It looks great!!

    Reply

  6. Katherines Corner
    Mar 20, 2012 @ 21:06:24

    Wow, well done, it looks beautiful!!Thank you for sharing. Hugs and wishes for a lovely week ahead! P.S. I’m your newest linky follower

    Reply

  7. Kristy Swain
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 09:28:34

    WOW!! That is impressive. You learned this in one class?! I NEED to find a class, then!! Holy cow. Great job.

    Reply

    • A Pinterest Addict
      Mar 22, 2012 @ 10:02:16

      Thanks:) Yes, well, over eight weeks anyway. There is another class starting in a few weeks, so I’m signing up again to learn some more techniques. Do they have community classes in your new neighborhood? I can not wait to see what you do to the new place!

      Reply

  8. Butterscotch Lady
    Mar 30, 2012 @ 18:06:24

    Well done! You have inspired me to look for an upholstery class to sign up for near me.

    Reply

    • A Pinterest Addict
      Mar 31, 2012 @ 05:53:43

      Thanks 🙂 I just signed up for the second class so I can learn how to get my slipper chairs done. There is so much to learn – I could take the class ten times and not get bored!

      Reply

  9. Nicholia Kisling Canfield
    Mar 31, 2012 @ 13:39:13

    OMG!! I was just looking at your site yesterday.. then randomly you started following me on pintrest!! ACK!! I am soooo excited!!

    Reply

  10. Nicholia Kisling Canfield
    Mar 31, 2012 @ 13:41:40

    Ok… Maybe becAUSe I pinned your blog as a fav… I dont know but I was still excited!

    Reply

    • A Pinterest Addict
      Mar 31, 2012 @ 15:22:07

      LOL! Yes, I did see your pin, and loved that you pinned it, thanks 😉 but I also liked your board, so I followed you back. I get so excited when someone pins my stuff – especially new ones – so you made my day. Thank you!

      Reply

Please leave a comment - they make me feel warm and fuzzy

Top Posts & Pages

