Shooting myself in the foot

Did you ever do something you later regretted? Yeah, I’ve done a bunch of things I wish I hadn’t, too. But, the other day, I was feeling kind of guilty for snatching up the Stiffel lamps for so cheap ($2 each) from an organization that uses the money they make on sales to help people. So, I sort of mentioned that I couldn’t believe that they were selling Stiffels for $2, but cheap Walmart (sorry, Walmart, but these particular lamps were kind of cheesy) lamps for $39. What kind of sense did that make?

Duh! What was I thinking? Well, when I went on Friday, no more Stiffels in the “last chance” bin, and it looks like they changed the prices on the lamps that were left. So, I’m pretty sure I won’t be finding any little treasures for dirt cheap anymore. That’s what my conscience does to me – makes me open up my mouth and ruin a good thing! I must learn to shut up! Oh well, I guess it’s a good cause so their pricing should be fair to them too.

On a brighter note, while I was there, I did pick up a chair for my upholstery class that starts on Tuesday. Just $19. Not bad considering that it’s in great shape. It would be a perfect candidate for a Tulip Fabric Spray update if I wasn’t going to rip it apart!

Project chair

I also picked up a few silver plated platters.

Silver platters, bowls, etc...

I know I have enough silver platters, but I wanted to experiment on them with Weiman tarnish removing products, but I can’t find the ones I want to try locally! Ggrrrrr… how annoying. I’ll have to order them online, which is a royal pain in the tush. I hate waiting for anything, it makes me nuts! Walmart around me carries their products, but not the instant tarnish remover. I guess I’ll be putting that on the back burner for now.

The little elephant was too cute to pass up, and with animal figures being all the rage right now, I see it looking fabulous with a coat of spray paint, and then gloss, to match my decor. The little blue and white tea set, and the white bowls were added for future use. I think I paid $10 for all of it.

I also picked up a cute little side table, that will look great next to the project chair, once both of them are updated. 

 

I did see some really nice things that I don’t have the room for or they completely don’t go with the rest of my house, so I thought I’d share them with you. If you live close by, you could run over and pick them up yourself!

First up was this cool wood carving. I am always impressed with how people can take a chunk of wood, and turn it into something fabulous and interesting.

There were two of them, at $12 a piece. Does anyone else find these things interesting?

Next, was this cabinet. 

It is in fabulous condition, and I wouldn’t change at thing about it. It’s rare to find something at FF that doesn’t need an update, but this one is perfect the way it is. It’s priced a little high, but then that seems to be the current trend at all thrift stores.

And finally, this chair was just too cute.

You can see the shape a little better from this angle, but that stool is in the way, sorry.

They wanted $199 for it. I wouldn’t pay that much for it retail! I can’t help it, I’m cheap/thrifty/budget aware. Whatever you want to call it, it pains me to spend a lot of money on something.

Also this week, we found a killer deal on a pre-loved shed on Craigslist. It got moved over here yesterday, but it sustained a little damage so I can’t move stuff into it yet. Major bummer. This pic is from yesterday before we moved it from the original owner’s house.

Isn't she a beauty?

The shed mover is coming back tomorrow to fix her up and then I can move some of the stuff currently in our garage over. I plan on setting up half of the garage to work on furniture and projects, so to say I’m excited about this shed is an understatement! Not to mention that I will actually be able to get to the garden tools and fertilizers without killing myself in the process. I would post pictures of our fabulously overstuffed garage so you could see what a mess it is, but you would lose respect for me big time!

I even have big plans for the side of the shed too – including setting up a little planting table and adding some landscaping and window boxes. Now, to pick colors to repaint it. I would love something bright and colorful, but my husband would prefer that it blend into the background. I’m sure we’ll find a compromise though. There are so many examples of great sheds on Pinterest, now I just have to convince him that it could stand a little color at least 🙂

Image from houzz.com

So that’s it for me today. What projects are you doing now?

Thanks for stopping by!

Eliesa

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jilien Gordon
    Jan 22, 2012 @ 16:13:23

    I love the Asian style cabinet! !
    I can’t wait for class Tuesday! It will be fun!
    And I want the plant bed you have!!
    🙂

    Reply

  2. domestiCate
    Jan 22, 2012 @ 17:07:27

    Seems like the prices at our thrift stores are super high lately, too. I guess they know everybody’s thrifting! You found some great pieces. The details on that table are nice!

    Reply

    • A Pinterest Addict
      Jan 23, 2012 @ 21:23:20

      I went today and didn’t find one single thing. Super disappointing because I was looking for a nice china cabinet for my sister. Everything nice was $399 and up…high for a thrift store.

      Reply

  3. Julie (aka MacCupcake)
    Jan 22, 2012 @ 21:53:06

    I wish I lived anywhere close to you, I would love to visit the places you shop! I think we’d have tons of fun!

    Reply

  4. designpillblog
    Jan 23, 2012 @ 17:28:54

    Stop shooting yourself!!! I just nominated you :o) ;o) :o)

    Reply

  5. catbird365
    Jan 23, 2012 @ 20:39:21

    Ooh…I’d have bought the wood carving, too!
    Now Shhhhhh about the treasures 😉

    Reply

Please leave a comment - they make me feel warm and fuzzy

