My week in review…

Things have been a little quiet around here in terms of projects. I know, shocking, right? Well, to be honest, I’ve been kind of stuck in a rut on a couple of things. Like what to paint on this cute little cabinet now that the base paint is done.

This is the BEFORE picture

It’s now painted a beautiful shade of Night Tide, by Rustoleum. Love the color, it’s yummy!

I would love to do something like this – as recommended by Melinda.

From Twice Lovely

Isn’t it the cutest? But I’m hesitant because I’m afraid of committing to a design. Or maybe it’s just that I haven’t found the right one yet? Either way, it’s sitting in the middle of the living room, waiting for me to make a decision. Oh, and I don’t have a projector, nor the best artistic talents in the world. I’m more of a stick figure kind of girl. For example, this is a project I worked on with my son and his friend this past weekend.

That's as good as it gets

Since I have a ton of materials laying around from when I tried to transfer photos onto wood boards, I decided we would make new art work for my son’s bathroom since he has decided that he doesn’t like his nautical themed bathroom. I told him that if he could come up with a free way to change the decor, we would do it. Β We used painters tape to tape off a design and then, painted the board. Well, after seeing how well this turned out, it looks like he’s stuck with a few boats in his bathroom for a little while. But it was fun to do artsy stuff with him and his buddy, so it was worth it.

We had to buy a new dishwasher because our old one decided not to work anymore. The control panel on it went, and it would have cost more to get that fixed than to buy a new one, so the husband put it in this week. It seems that something else breaks every month in this house, and it’s causing me nightmares of the whole house collapsing around me. Anyone else have these dreams after they bought their house, or am I the only weird one?

The side yard is finally done. It looks so much better!

It feels like we've gained thirty more feet of space!

Can you see a glimpse of the neighbors house?? I told you there was one back there!

No more jungle!

I’m glad it’s over and done with. We only have three more areas to clear out… ugh.

Today, I found yet another macaroni and cheese recipe that looked delicious. This one is from Macaroni and Cheesecake – doesn’t the name of the blog just make you drool?

From Macaroni and Cheesecake

And even though I didn’t have the right kind of shells, or the dijon mustard, I improvised with elbow macaroni and deli mustard. Okay, so here are a few of my observations…

  1. It didn’t take 20 minutes on low before all the milk was gone, more like 8 minutes after letting it come to a simmer.
  2. It was really stiff, not creamy. I added butter and more milk, which helped a little.
  3. I prefer the full fat, lots of butter kind of mac and cheese, but I wouldn’t say no if someone offered it to me.
  4. This might have all been due to the changing of ingredients, so don’t blame the recipe. If you try it and get better results, let me know!

Next time, I’m trying the Panera recipe, which my daughter LOVES!

Panera Mac & Cheese - the best I've ever had!

And finally, for as many pins that I’ve pinned about fitness, I haven’t started a program yet. Partly because I’ve been sick, and partly because it’s frickin’ hard to just get off my arse and go! But I need to get to a healthy weight, and build muscle and feel better, so, today, I decided to just do it! I have been so stressed out that I had to clear my head and what better way to do that than to exercise and spend some time with a buddy? Here is my exercise buddy…

Charlie!!

I love this action shot πŸ™‚ Out of all four dogs, he’s the best exercise companion, because he knows to stay out from in front of the bike!Β We took a ride around our “block”, which is a pretty long walk/jog for him and a good start for me. And tomorrow, we will repeat. Maybe I’ll try to get the puppy out for a spin too, get him trained early. A girl can never have too many exercise buddies.

And that’s it for this week. If any one has any cool design ideas for my cabinet, please let me know.

Thanks for stopping by!

Eliesa

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kim Houston
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 21:50:34

    Love the cabinet & love love love the inspiration design piece! You know you can buy large stencils that could work. You can also use a real object & make an outline, like large palm fron or banana leaf. When you start to feel a little frustrated about things breaking in your house, just remind yourself of your old neighbors! Lovin the blog…keep up the great work lady!

    Reply

    • A Pinterest Addict
      Jan 19, 2012 @ 22:02:14

      Hmmm… Using a real object as a stencil would work – didn’t think of that! I looked for large stencils, but I didn’t see any big enough or of my liking yet. I think the palm frond would be perfect, actually. It’s not too trendy, and it’s very classy looking. Love it!
      And truer words have not been spoken about the neighbor issue – loving that at least I can sleep through the night now, even if I have a few nightmares πŸ™‚

      Reply

  2. Melinda Greer
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 22:44:57

    Have tried your local library. They may have a projector that you could use. They may not let you take if home but you could bring a piece of paper the size you need and trace the pattern on that and then do a pencil rub or ball point pens trace technique. Or maybe a kind teacher would let you do the same thing in her classroom after hours?

    Reply

  3. Alison @ www.pigandpaint.com
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 00:49:29

    I still vote for an overlay from this company: http://www.myoverlays.com/Home.aspx πŸ™‚ …you could even incorporate mirrors (super cheap at Ikea) and end up with something like this: http://www.homedecorators.com/P/Reflections_Addie_Large_Cabinet/410/

    I know whatever you end up deciding will look fabulous though! Can’t wait to see it when you’re done!

    Reply

    • A Pinterest Addict
      Jan 20, 2012 @ 09:08:11

      I checked them out, and I think they are fabulous! Only problem is that they can get pretty expensive, especially because it would have to be custom due to the odd shape. I have them bookmarked though, so I can use them for another project I have coming up. It’s much more square-ish.

      Reply

  4. catbird365
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 08:28:10

    Love the dog photo!

    Reply

Please leave a comment - they make me feel warm and fuzzy

