A thank you, some yard work, and one more question answered

Leapin’ Lizards!!! I can’t believe how fast my little blog has grown in the past two weeks! Over 250 followers, and it’s had over 40,000 hits! Crazy!

Thanks to all of you for making it happen. I am enjoying all the comments and suggestions, and I hope that they will continue to come my way. If you are new here, as most of you are, don’t be shy – say hi!

Many of you have found me due to my post about painting a chair using Tulip’s fabric spray paint, and quite a few of you have said you are going to try it on your furniture.  I would love it if you let me know how your painted furniture comes out for you. If you’d let me, I’d love to be able to share your projects here, too. So send me pics of your successes, please! Oh, and if you didn’t have a good outcome, let me know that too.

This week has been a little crazy around here. The kids went back to school (b000!), and we are in the middle of getting the side yard cleaned out from all the over-grown weeds, trees and bushes that we inherited when we bought our house. It’s a mess. We had the front yard cleaned out when we first moved in, but with over five acres of land, it just was too expensive to clear everything at once. The side yard needed to be cleared so we could replace the fence so that our dogs, and the neighbors dogs, wouldn’t get hurt on the rusting, twisted metal. So, after two days of non-stop work, it’s looking pretty good. The landscapers are coming back tomorrow to finish so I’ll post “after” pics when everything is done. In the meantime, here’s a before pic, just so you can see what we were looking at everyday.

Ugh...

Can you see our neighbor’s house through the trees? No, we couldn’t either! It’s back there though, behind all that mess. While we all like our privacy around here, it was just out of control.

This pic was taken from the same spot, only turned to the left, towards the front of our property. Do you see where my husband tried to plant some orange and lemon trees? Without enough sun due to all the tree cover, they aren’t doing well 😦

Sad little orange tree

And that dead bush to the right and behind it, is a gardenia bush I was trying to save. Apparently, I don’t have a green thumb. I think it went into shock when we moved it, and never recovered. It makes me sad. Yes, I know it’s just a bush, but the poor thing didn’t deserve to die just because I didn’t want to leave it’s heavenly scent behind at the old house. Anyway, you won’t believe how different the side yard looks now. I love it already, and it’s not even finished!

And finally, we are going to visit another Tulip fabric spray paint question… Can you believe there are still questions to be answered? I love that so many people want to try this stuff!  So, anyway, quite a few people have asked me to tell them if it would cover over designs in the fabric. This is one I’ve been meaning to try for a while, but just didn’t get to it until today.

Before

This pillow came with the two chairs that I painted using Latex paint and fabric medium. (You can read the post about that here.)

I sprayed the pillow with the black Tulip fabric spray paint twice. This is after the first time.

Sprayed once.

And this is after spraying it twice.

Sprayed twice

It did not cover the design as well as I would like it to have done. But it is still soft. I am sure if I kept spraying it, it would cover it better, but I ran out of spray at that point, so I can’t show/tell you for sure. But, keep in mind that it did work well when I used it on the black bamboo chair cover, which had a design woven into the fabric. You can still see the raised thread, but it’s black now. This little experiment took up the last of my fabric spray paint, so I won’t be able to do any more experiments until I get some more. Sorry!

So, I think that’s all the questions that have been asked… If you have more questions that I haven’t addressed yet, please let me know.

Tomorrow I will be posting an update on the cabinet I’m painting, so come on back to check it out – it’s one of my favorite pieces to date!

Thanks again for stopping by!

Eliesa

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. realfoodforless
    Jan 15, 2012 @ 11:36:53

    I love what you did with the pillow!

    Reply

  2. Jillian
    Apr 01, 2012 @ 13:20:06

    Do you know if the paint rubs off? I have some chairs I would like to do this to but they get a lot of use.

    Reply

Please leave a comment - they make me feel warm and fuzzy

