Photo Transfers

I saw the coolest idea for transferring a photo onto a block of wood on Pinterest, so I pinned it and set to work gathering materials.

  • wooden board
  • picture printed on regular paper
  • mod podge
  • gel medium
  • rag and bowl of water

From Sugar and Paint

The original pin I pinned was a link to her video, that showed the whole process from start to finish in about a minute. Very cute. I recommend that you check it out, here. In fact, I’m not going to go through the whole process here, so click on the link and come back… I’ll wait.

Back already? It was cute, huh? Well, anyway, I followed her steps, which were easy. But when I wet the back of the paper and started to rub it off, it kept taking huge chunks of the picture too. I wish I had taken a picture, but it was such a mess that I let it dry, sanded it completely off and tried again. This time, I tried a color picture. This is how it turned out.

Don't adjust your screen, it's hardly visible

Then, I turned the wood over and tried again. Although this one came out better, it still is not great.

Me and the Hubs

Most of my face is covered in what looks like scratches. 

But my handsome husband is looking pretty good!

Next, I tried a pic of the daughter. On her’s, I was afraid to rub too hard to take off the paper, so it has a lot of white fuzzy paper left on it.

So, I just went over it with mod podge and called it a day. I think next time, I will buy a softer, more porous wood. The one I did of my son wasn’t even picture worthy.

But I did try one of him using the same technique using canvas. This is the pin I found for it.

From A Beautiful Mess

What I used on this project

It came out better than the wood, I think because it’s more porous.

All done!

I used Krylon Make it Last Clear Sealer on top of this one, instead of Mod Podge.

I am going to try this again, as I have a crazy amount of material left for it, but I will be wetting the canvas before I put the medium on it. Maybe that will help the ink to sink in a little better.

Have you tried these projects? How did yours turn out?

Thanks for stopping by!

Eliesa

 

UPDATE: I tried this again using a wooden board. This time, I sanded the surface to get out any bumps or ridges, and instead of just putting the gel medium on, I wet the board first, then put the gel medium on, and then the picture and smoothed it out. I let it sit for about an hour, then took a wet paper towel and wet the back of the paper. My thought process was that it would release more of the ink into the board. Then I let it sit for a few hours to dry completely. When I went to remove the paper this time, there was much improvement with the picture staying on the board, and not just rolling off with the paper. I don’t know if that’s the key to success for this project, but it worked for me!

My sister and her beautiful family

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tracy
    Jan 01, 2012 @ 14:58:47

    Love the pictures, and the transfer of Tori’s on the wood looks great. I still want to try to do the canvas collage but haven’t had the chance yet. Let me know any tips that will help me out!! 🙂

    Reply

    • A Pinterest Addict
      Jan 01, 2012 @ 15:23:03

      Thanks! I am going to try this again soon. I just have to find 4 pics I like enough to make it a wall collage. Did you see the pics that I posted on your Pinterest for the family pics? I’ve been keeping an eye out for great poses. Now, we just have to make a date and get them taken!! xoxo

      Reply

  2. Michelle at Faith, Trust, & Pixie Dust
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 00:06:34

    Hi Eliesa, What a cute name/concept for a blog. Love it! I’m a Pinterest addict as well, but probably don’t try out enough of the projects I see there. Thank you for popping by my blog & for your sweet comment. I so appreciate it. Please let me know if you have a random act of kindness celebration. I’d like to read about it!
    Warmly, Michelle

    Reply

    • A Pinterest Addict
      Jan 08, 2012 @ 10:50:00

      Hi Michelle! I have been going crazy trying to come up with something original to do, something I could re-do every 100 followers, etc. I am hoping to figure something out soon, and I’ll let you know when I do. Thanks for the great idea. Eliesa

      Reply

  3. Chantelle Rogers
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 01:19:32

    I did something like this one year for my MIL for Mothers day. I did the canvas not the wood. Anyway, I found it here http://www.thediydish.com/2010/04/episode-7-mixed-media-photo-collages-for-mothers-day/ and followed their steps…It turned out great!!! so just thought i’d pass that along for your next attempt! I am your newest follower and I would love to have you stop by my blog sometime.
    Thanks,
    Chantelle

    Reply

Please leave a comment - they make me feel warm and fuzzy

Top Posts & Pages

