Fabric Paint – questions and answers…

Good morning! I can not tell you how excited I am that you are stopping by my blog! The response to my post about this chair has been overwhelming – over 100,000 views just for that post alone!

Fabric Spray Paint

In the last three days, I’ve have over ten thousand hits and as a relative newbie to the blogging thing, I’m floored!

Please Note: The above picture is not the finished chair. Yesterday I sanded off the black spray paint on the legs, so it’s a hot mess right now. This pic was taken before I put the additional coat of fabric paint on, so there are still a few green areas visible. That’s not the case now, and as soon as I get it all done, I’ll post finished pics.

There have been lots of questions about the fabric paint I used on this chair, so I want to answer them as best I can. Here goes!

1. What did you use? Tulip Fabric Spray Paint in Dark Teal.

2. Does it feel stiff? No, it pretty much feels the way it did before I painted it. However, the fabric I used it on wasn’t soft to begin with. If I had to guess about what the fabric is, I’d say some kind of polyester blend. I don’t know how it will react to other kinds of fabric. I’m trying it today on cotton. I’ll update this post when I find out.

3. Does it rub off? No, not yet anyway. I have sat on it many times now and not a tiny bit of color has transferred. Today I will try to see if it rubs off if you sit on it while wet. (I’m assuming people are asking this because they want to use it on pool/outside furniture?) It says on the bottle that you can wash it after 72 hours, provided that you turn the garment inside out. Obviously, I won’t be sticking the chair in the washing machine, so I’m going to do the next best thing… a damp towel.

4. How many bottles did this take? It took me five bottles. I had a bunch of nooks and crannies to do, so I used almost a whole bottle just getting into the tufting. Repeatedly. The stain sets into the fabric, so it required quite a few coats.

5. How much does it cost? I bought it at both Michaels and Jo-Ann Fabrics. It was $6.79 at Michael’s and $6.99 at Jo-Ann’s. But this week it was on sale at Jo-Ann’s for 25% off, so I paid just under $5 for it. I thought it was kind of expensive given that it only was a few ounces, but when I think of what the cost of re-upholstering it would have been, it’s pretty cheap.

Just a few of my own tips for this project.

  • Be sure to have a paint brush handy. The spray doesn’t come out like your typical spray paint. It’s not an aerosol. So, it will just be a big circle of paint, plopped on the fabric. Use the brush to spread it out and work it into the nooks and crannies. It’s also not sticky or tacky, and takes about twenty minutes to dry, so it’s super easy to spread and manipulate.
  • It will stain your hands (and your face – ugh), so use gloves. And be sure to use a drop cloth, because it will stain your floors. My driveway is now teal-ish in the spot I did this in. Oops! It blends nicely with all the black/blue/gray overspray from my other projects.
  • Depending on what you are covering, plan on about four coats to uniformly color your fabric.
  • The bottle says that it works best on covering over white or light colors. This is true, but it did do a good job covering light/medium green.

If you do this project, I would love it if you came back to share your results!

Thanks so much for stopping by – be sure to come back!

Eliesa

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rebecca
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 10:12:27

    I just came back from Jo-Ann’s. The Tulip brand of fabric spray paint didn’t really have any colors that I wanted for my project, so instead I went for a different brand, Simply Spray. They had more colors to choose from… I’m planning on painting my chair later today/tomorrow, so I’ll let you know if the product is comparable! Also, it was $2 cheaper than Tulip, with the 25% discount too, AND a store coupon on top!

    Reply

    • A Pinterest Addict
      Dec 31, 2011 @ 10:23:55

      I saw Simply Spray there too, but they didn’t have it in teal. I have watched the videos online, and it looks super easy! Please let me know if it works as good as it looks! I have a few more projects that I would love to try it on. Thanks!!

      Reply

  2. Nancy
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 11:03:47

    since you are brushing it on anyway could you use regular fabric paint? (as in not the spray version)

    Reply

    • A Pinterest Addict
      Dec 31, 2011 @ 11:39:05

      Hi Nancy! Yes, you would think, right? When I bought the spray, I didn’t know I was going to have to brush it in. I was looking for an alternative to the fabric medium + paint that made my other chairs scratchy. I haven’t tried any of the other kinds of fabric paint yet, but I’ll get to them. There’s always another chair that needs some lovin’! 🙂

      Reply

  3. realfoodforless
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 14:00:11

    Thanks for sharing this project! I have always wanted to do some furniture restoration.

    Reply

  4. Victoria
    Jan 01, 2012 @ 22:28:06

    My mom is wanting to get rid of a GREAT chair, but I haven’t claimed it yet because the fabric absolutely does not go with my decor. This is a great idea to make that chair mine!! I’ll let you know how it turns out!

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Fabric sprays | Letsbuymiami
  6. Trackback: Thrifty Thursday – Spray paint chair « Pinterest Addict

Please leave a comment - they make me feel warm and fuzzy

Top Posts & Pages

