It’s beginning to look a lot like an office…

The other day I posted about painting the Thomasville desk I purchased for $149 at Faith Farm.

Desk before

I loved the way it looks now. It makes me happy just to look at it!

Desk – After

My only worry was that it was so much prettier than the room was. Before last week, the office was very much a hodge-podge of old shelves…

Messy shelves

still unfinished furniture pieces and lamps…

My $29 dollar chest of drawers – awesome storage space!

a brown and cream multi-colored rug…

Gracie loves to be exactly where she shouldn’t be

and LOTS of clutter from all my sewing/art/photography supplies.

In an effort to clean up, everything is chucked in the closet! Yeah, I’ll clean it soon

Since I don’t want to spend any money this month, I had to use what I had in the house and make it work. We had this little filing cabinet/drawer in the office.

20111216-141616.jpg
Can you guess what I did with it? Yep, I spray painted it!

20111216-153756.jpg
Two coats of glossy black and changed the knobs to match the desk. Much better.
Then I changed to rug too.

Elvis doesn’t want to be left out of this post…

And now, this is what one side of the room looks like.

As for the rest of the room, I need to get the shelves put into the closet and to paint the dresser. I don’t know what color to paint it though. I think another piece of black furniture would be too much. What if I used the Newburg Green from the closet? Or white? What do you think?

Furniture Feature Fridays

Thanks for reading!

Eliesa

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deidre~
    Dec 16, 2011 @ 19:40:43

    WOW!! Love what you did:) Fantastic!! Thanks,Deidre~

    Reply

  2. Mimi
    Dec 17, 2011 @ 14:15:33

    Office looks great now. Love the side piece you did to match the desk. Where’d you get the rug. Looks great!

    Reply

  3. Eggton
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 17:31:52

    Nice work on that desk! It’s gorgeous!

    Reply

  4. mairzeebp
    Dec 24, 2011 @ 06:47:34

    Sister, you get more done on this blog than I have in the past three months. I’m exhausted by your brilliance :).

    Love the desk! Love the little filing cabinet! Love the rug. Can’t wait to see what you do next!

    Reply

    • A Pinterest Addict
      Dec 24, 2011 @ 07:16:38

      Thank you! I think it’s because my brain doesn’t allow my body to just rest. It never stops! I have a pile of projects to get to, yet I keep acquiring every cool old piece of furniture I see because I am certain I will be able to make it a-maz-ing! Unfortunately, I am running out of room in my house! I’m going to have to open a shop or something to get rid of all the stuff I makeover! Oh, the husband will not be amused 🙂

      Reply

  5. Sara
    Jan 02, 2012 @ 23:37:13

    I love it!!! I need to “redo” the cluttered, catch-all guest bedroom upstairs. It’s going to be my new creative officespace, soon I hope! I say go for the green if you haven’t already painted the dresser! 🙂

    Have a delicious day,
    Sara Dunning

    Reply

    • A Pinterest Addict
      Jan 03, 2012 @ 11:01:10

      Thanks! I am leaning towards painting it green too! I am hoping to figure out my paint sprayer, and use that for it because I don’t want any brush strokes. The paint machine has me intimidated, so it may take a little bit. Thanks!

      Reply

Please leave a comment - they make me feel warm and fuzzy

