Holiday Hookers

This year, I’ve been having a hard time getting into the Christmas Spirit. In fact, I’ve kind of felt like him…

Scrooge

I could bore you with the details of why, but I won’t because I realize what a dope I am for sweating the small stuff. But, the other day I was on Facebook and saw a post from one of my favorite blogs, Rants From Mommyland, that included the word “Hooker”. It had to be good… they are fricking hysterical. I clicked on it. (You can click on this, and read it too!)

Basically, they are hooking up mommies that could use a helping hand with mommies that can help. OMG! As I read it, I realized that it was exactly what I needed. Almost immediately, I started feeling the Christmas Spirit.

Usually, I love to buy Christmas presents for those I love because I know they will like it, blah blah blah.

Yay! Presents!

But to be able to help someone else buy presents for their kids because they are just scraping by is just what I think that Christmas is all about.

You see, many moons ago, I was a single parent, going to school and working two jobs just to keep us in our one bedroom apartment. I know I was lucky because I could always make ends meet and give my daughter  Christmas presents too. But I know how close I was to not being able to on many occasions. It keeps you up at night, mind racing round and round, thinking of what you could sell off to be able to buy your kid the doll/book/stuffed dog that she’s been asking for for months.

Let's see, what can I sell... clothes, old toys... my kidney?

All I could imagine is this scenario on Christmas morning…

Ugh! My Christmas Nightmare

It’s a sucky feeling and one I never want to experience again. And if I could help someone else be able to avoid that feeling, then by golly, I would!!

Immediately I signed up to help, got my hook up two loooonnnngggg days later, and today I am mailing out the gift card.

I don’t know anything about the person I am helping, besides her name, but I hope that she will feel the joy and excitement that I am sending along with her card. Who knew that it would take sending out a Christmas card to someone I’ve never met before, to feel so much happiness?

Yep - I put all this in my envelope!

I highly recommend it.

 

UPDATED: I just sent an email to Kate and Lydia just to follow up on sending out the gift card, and I got an auto response stating they currently have more mommies that need help, than they do that can help. So if you can help out, please send an email to helpinghookers@rantsfrommommyland.com

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tracy
    Dec 12, 2011 @ 12:53:14

    You have such a big heart, and always have….what a great way to get in the Christmas spirit!!

    Reply

  2. Susan
    Dec 12, 2011 @ 12:53:29

    Yep!! That is what Christmas is all about!!!

    Reply

Please leave a comment - they make me feel warm and fuzzy

