Thrifty Thursday

The other day, while trying to get the Christmas tree out of the attic, I came to the realization that I need to stop buying new projects until I get done with, or rid of, the old ones. I have about thirty projects just waiting for me to finish them. Dressers, desks, chairs, tables, picture frames – all of them, just sitting in makeover limbo. I have bags from craft stores for projects that I no longer am interested in doing. I have spray paint out the whazoo for projects I’ve done but never used in the house because I just felt like trying a crafty thing I saw on Pinterest. Ugh. It’s not only a black hole for time, but now for my wallet! It’s a sickness, I tell ya!

Anyway, since today is Thrifty Thursday, I’ve decided that the most thrifty thing for me to do is pick a project from the many I have in the house. For instance, the mirror above the couch was picked up on clearance at Kirkland’s for $49.

Gold Mirror

I knew when I bought it that I would have to paint it black or silver, but I didn’t get around to it. So, yesterday, I broke out the black acrylic craft paint and went to town. 

It looked a little blah with just being black, so I went over the beaded trim with a pearl white paint, which I thought added just the tiniest bit of interest.

I like it much better now.

As for the living room, I can’t seem to pull it together yet. Ever since we moved here, I feel like this room is my biggest failure. Although I love my thrift store makeovers, maybe they don’t fit just right? I need another pair of experienced eyes to look at the space and tell me what to do. It’s so frustrating. Okay, rant over.

One of my thrifting idols is Rashon Carraway, also known as Mr. Goodwill Hunting. He has an amazing blog that shows all his thrift store finds and how he transforms them. There’s other stuff too about the clothes he finds, but obviously, I’m more interested in his makeovers!! Anyway, last week, he posted about this chair – well, actually, there are two of them – that he picked up for $14.99 each! (click on the pics to go to his blog posts)

Rashon's chair - OMG!! LOVE - even before he did anything to them...

But then, he went and painted them! Yes, PAINTED.

Now, I’m rethinking the whole re-upholstering thing for these chairs…

$10 each at a garage sale! LOVE the clean lines!

This is how they are look right now…

Covered/Disguised!

So, which should I do? Re-upholster or Paint?

And finally, we are also working on finishing my closet. My darling husband is putting up the last of the shelves right now. I’m so excited to finally be able to hang my clothes up! They have been in boxes since we moved, and that’s almost six months! I opened the boxes up yesterday and couldn’t help but to feel that I was seeing old friends 🙂  I’ll show you once I get everything put away.

That’s it for Thrifty Thursday. I’ll be working on more projects this week and I’ll keep you posted!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lamona
    Dec 07, 2011 @ 14:37:41

    Well, I’m not sure about the paint only for comfort reasons….would it be comfortable to sit on? Other then that, it looks pretty sharp…..although i have to say, I like the fabric that you have on the chair on the right…..very cool fabric….loving how the room is coming together…..

    Reply

    • A Pinterest Addict
      Dec 07, 2011 @ 18:05:24

      I painted them! I will post the pics soon. Today, they feel a little stiff, but not horrible. The fabric on the right is actually two throw blankets. I like the pattern too. I tried to find something cool like that, but haven’t gotten past JoAnn’s Fabrics. They have the same tired, boring fabrics that they’ve carried for the past five years! I have to get to a real fabric store soon. In the meantime, they are painted.

      Reply

      • lamona
        Dec 09, 2011 @ 09:47:17

        When you take your trip in feb…come early and I will take you to fabric row….INSANE amount of fabric…..and then the calico corners outlet……you will consider moving just for the fabric stores…. 🙂

  2. lamona
    Dec 07, 2011 @ 14:39:02

    Love the mirror….it looks fabulous….

    Reply

  3. mairzeebp
    Dec 08, 2011 @ 10:52:35

    LOVE the pearl white paint. LOVE it. Nice touch :).

    Reply

Please leave a comment - they make me feel warm and fuzzy

