Thrifty Thursday… errr, I mean Thrifty Friday!

My favorite thrift store, Faith Farm, had a huge sale this weekend in honor of Veteran’s Day. I showed up at opening time, 9 am, and there was a line already all the way down the length of the building. People looking for a bargain always know when the big sales are and everyone showed up to the game! People were running the back of the store, where the pre-loved furniture is kept. By the time I got back there, approximately 9:05, there were SOLD stickers everywhere! I was on the lookout for two things… a bedside table for my son’s room and a small magazine/coffee table for between our two new chairs in our bedroom. Right away, I found this for my son’s room.

Bedside Table

It was marked down to $19, but it was an additional 50% off, so $9.50! Not bad for a solid wood cabinet. It’s perfect for his space πŸ™‚

Then, I found these. Don’t be scared for me, I haven’t lost my mind.

Side tables and Coffee table

They were dirty… and YELLOW. But more importantly, they had Italian marble tops, in GREAT condition! My thrifting buddy, Cricket, said they were hideous. I saw potential. They were mine for $99. They would go great in our new grey living room!

Then I saw these…

Glass side tables

Yes, they were tacky gold with a funky mirror with gold veining. Nothing that some elbow grease and spray paint won’t help!

After that, I found a chair I simply couldn’t say no to. It was in great condition, and comfy too! I thought I could re-cover the cushion and paint it to match my daughter’s room, but she didn’t want it. So, it went to the boy child’s room too!

Wicker Chair

People were going a little nuts all around me. I thought for sure there would be some fist fights over some of the nicer couches, but the salesmen were keeping everyone in line. Β I was just about to leave when this got brought in.

Desk

I checked it out, pulling drawers, looking for damage. It was a Thomasville desk, with gold/copper leaf on the top. It’s a little banged up, but again, nothing a little sandpaper and stain won’t fix. For $149, I thought it was well worth the investment. It’s going to be great in the family room!

I could tell you that that’s where the spending ended, but I don’t like to lie. I found another lamp, a beautiful mirror that weighs a ton, and something else… crud, what was it?? I swear, I’d forget my head if it wasn’t attached!

I’ve been hard at work making over a couple of the pieces already, and I’ll update you on them on Makeover Monday.

So, have YOU bought anything thrifty lately? Tell me about it!

Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jeanne
    Nov 15, 2011 @ 23:11:47

    Wow! I love it all. I came home with a $5 chair for my office. Can’t beat that.

    Reply

    • A Pinterest Addict
      Nov 18, 2011 @ 08:37:08

      I don’t think it’s a good idea for me to shop there on a sale day. I get that “hurry-up-and-put-a-sold-sign-on-it-so-no-one-else-buys-it” frame of mind, and end up with lots of things I don’t really need! LOL!

      Reply

  2. mairzeebp
    Nov 16, 2011 @ 10:01:43

    You make me want to map out every thrift store within 2 hours of my house, rent a pick up truck and take my bucket of spare change and thirst for a deal out on the road. I can’t wait to see what you do with everything!

    Reply

    • A Pinterest Addict
      Nov 18, 2011 @ 08:38:21

      It’s kind of an addictive habit, I can’t pass a thrift store without stopping to see what they have. When you move in with us, we’ll shop till your room is so full, you can’t move anymore!

      Reply

Please leave a comment - they make me feel warm and fuzzy

