Tasty Tuesday – Pumpkin Dump Cake

I am finally feeling better after almost two weeks of having a crazy cold that wouldn’t go away. Actually, it seems that a lot of things have had me all messed up lately- computer was in the shop, had to replace my iphone, and someone rear-ended my car and it’s been in the shop for the last week. Although I was not updating the blog, I wasn’t completely slacking! Let’s start with last Wednesday…

Because I missed Tasty Tuesday last week, on Wednesday I tried this pin. (click on the pic to take you to the recipe!)

Pumpkin Dump Cake

Once again, my version wasn’t as pretty!

My pumpkin dump cake

I was pretty excited to try this, as it looked like a great alternative to the same-old, same-old pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving dinner.

I gathered all the ingredients…

Ingredients

Mixed it all up… Poured the pumpkin batter into the pan, sprinkled the box of cake mix on top of that and covered that with the melted butter.

 

I didn’t have graham crackers to crumble up, so I crushed up some Oreos and added them to the very top and popped it in the oven. It smelled heavenly, but when all was said and done, it just wasn’t something I loved. It was kind of an odd texture, having the smooth, creamy pumpkin pie filling on bottom, then the cake mix was kind of powdery on top. My kids tried it, but didn’t take more than one bite before giving it a “it’s okay” and grabbing a piece of fruit from the fruit bowl for their afternoon snack. I put in the fridge for a few days hoping someone would want to eat some more before I threw it out. Didn’t happen. Bummer! Looks like we’ll be making a traditional pumpkin pie after all 😦 Maybe I’ll try those individual pies next – they are so cute!

 

Fresh from the oven!

What recipes have you tried that didn’t quite make the grade? What’s your favorite holiday pie?

 

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mairzeebp
    Nov 16, 2011 @ 10:07:52

    Something about the box of cake mix on the top threw me off. A for effort I say. Every time I try to bake something which is rare since I ruined those easy bake cookies you just lay on a sheet and put in the oven, I feel like it’s a success (even if it isn’t :o).

    Reply

    • A Pinterest Addict
      Nov 18, 2011 @ 08:44:26

      I had such high hopes for this one 😦
      Maybe next time, I’ll mix the two sticks of butter with the cake mix and then dump it on there because the places where the butter pooled on the top was crispy and delicious…

      Reply

Please leave a comment - they make me feel warm and fuzzy

