Easy Halloween decorations

While looking for Fall decoration ideas, I found this on Pinterest. While I don’t eat much candy corn, decorating with it is fabulous! (Visit Woman’s Day for more ideas on decorating with candy corn.)

Woman's Day Halloween Hurricane Lamps

I loved them because they didn’t scream “HALLOWEEN!!” at you, so you could use them for all of Fall. Perfect for me because I am not someone who will change decorations too frequently. The only problem was that I wasn’t going to pay $40 for the large hurricane glass, or even $25 for the smaller one. I suppose we should just get this out there now: I am cheap – thrifty, if you want to be nice about it. I love a good bargain, and it physically pains me to pay a lot of money for anything. So, I set out on a mission to find something that would let me get the look, without paying that price. It turned out to be pretty easy, actually. Walmart had something very similar for $5! And because I don’t believe in “matchy-matchy”, I bought two similar lamps, both $5 each.

So, here’s the cost breakdown

  • Two hurricane glasses each $5
  • The shorter candle was about $3
  • Taller candle was $5
  • Bag of candy corn was less than $2.
  • Total Cost = $20!

I love it on table by the front door, next to the silver(plated) pitcher I found at Faith Farm for $2. Have I mentioned that I love that place?

Added bonus: the candles are scented, so it smells lovely everytime you walk by.

My $20 Version!

The only down-side to using candy corn for decorating? My son keeps eating them!

So, what are your favorite Fall/Halloween decorations?

 

Linking up to  

over at http://www.houseofearnest.com/2011/11/02/a-little-gold-lining-for-your-wednesday/

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tracy
    Oct 12, 2011 @ 19:55:50

    Love the final product and love the $$ savings!

    Reply

  2. Steph
    Oct 13, 2011 @ 16:09:05

    I love it too….I think I’m doing this…hopefully I will find vases tall enough that it would be hard to fit my hand in every 5 minutes:)

    Reply

  3. linds
    Nov 04, 2011 @ 03:58:48

    Your version is super cute! I can’t believe you found those hurricane glasses at walmart! I have been wanting some for such a long time, but they are always too expensive. I’m going to have to go check there this weekend.

    Reply

    • A Pinterest Addict
      Nov 04, 2011 @ 08:14:12

      They have bunch of them, all pretty inexpensive. By the way, I can’t wait to re-use them for Thanksgiving and Christmas! So many pins, so little time 🙂 Thanks for stopping by AND commenting :p

      Reply

  4. Trackback: My Week of Thanksgiving « Pinterest Addict

Please leave a comment - they make me feel warm and fuzzy

Top Posts & Pages

